Black Law Students Association

  • The Black Law Students Association (“BLSA”) seeks to:

    • Foster a supportive community for students of African descent at Capital University Law School.
    • Implement programs designed to enhance the academic and cultural experience at Capital Law and provide a strong political voice on issues of concern to Black students.
    • Encourage scholarship and excellence among Black law students while also sponsoring participation in a wide range of activities.

    2013-2014 Leadership
    President: Ayana Barrow
    Day Vice President: Kari Murphy
    Secretary: Veronica Carman
    Treasurer: Jermaine Colquitt
    Community Service Chair: Melody Smith


    Congratulations to Aracely Tagliaventi who received the BLSA Outstanding 3L Award at the April 5, 2013 BLSA Banquet!

    Historical Information

    2012-2013 Leadership
    President: Aracely Tagliaventi
    Vice President: Tempestt Jacocks
    Treasurer: Marley Raymond
    Secretary: Brittany Collins 
    Community Service Chair: Garrison Carr
    Advisor: Professor Joseph Grant  

    2011-2012 Leadership
    President: Erica Johnson
    Day Vice President: Brittany Steele
    Evening Vice President: Cedric Collins
    Treasurer: Gabrielle Moore
    Secretary: Dara Pittard-Lucas 
    Parliamentarian: Tamikka Pate
    Professional Development Chair: Garrison Carr
    Community Service Chair (Fall 2011): Mitzi Moody
    Community Service Chair (Spring 2012): Antwan Booker
    1L Representative: Christopher Lyttle

    2010-2011 Leadership
    President: David Ingram
    Day Vice President: Kimberly Wheeler
    Evening Vice President: Erica Johnson
    Treasurer: Tonya Sapp
    Secretary: Shayla Favor
    Parliamentarian: Ashley Ingram
    Professional Development Chair: Stefan Thomas
    Community Service Chair: Brittany Steele
    Advisor: Professor Joseph Grant