Moot Court - Capital University Law School

Moot Court

  • The Moot Court Program at Capital University Law School is the student-run appellate advocacy honors society. Members of the Moot Court Program receive the practical experience of drafting appellate briefs and developing strong oral advocacy skills, intellectual flexibility, the ability to function well under pressure, and the self-confidence necessary to be successful advocates. Competitors, also known as “Mooters”, travel all over the United States to compete in regional and national competitions. Additionally, members of the Moot Court Program are eligible for two credit hours in the semester in which their competition takes place.

    Participation in the Moot Court Program occurs in two ways. First, a student may serve as a Moot Court Fellow during their first and or second year. Second, a student may compete as a member of one of the many teams during their third year. Each Moot Court team has a faculty advisor.

    Additionally, each year an election takes places among all of the chosen members of the Moot Court teams to determine the Moot Court Executive Board. The Moot Court Executive Board is responsible for running the Moot Court Program for the year. Professor Dennis Hirsch serves as the advisor to the Moot Court Executive Board and for the entire Moot Court Program.

    2015-2016 Moot Court Teams
    The National Team (ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition)
    The Child Welfare and Adoption Law Team (National Center for Adoption Law & Policy National Moot Court Competition)
    The Corporate Law Team (Ruby R. Vale Interschool Corporate Moot Court Competition)
    The Hispanic Law Team (Hispanic National Bar Association Uvaldo Herrera Moot Court Competition)
    The Labor and Employment Law Team (Robert F. Wagner National Labor & Employment Law Moot Court Competition)

    Historical Information
    2015-2016 Moot Court Executive Board
    Chief Justice: Julie Beroes
    Internal Associate Justice: Phillip Sarnowski
    External Associate Justice: Brianna Walsh
    Associate Justice: Patrick Murphy
    Bar Relations Justice: Anthony Sallee

    2014-2015 Moot Court Executive Board
    Chief Justice: Randall Carey
    Internal Associate Justice: Michael Shaw
    External Associate Justice: Jacqueline Baumann
    Associate Justice: Allison Tucker
    Bar Relations Justice: Christine Duraney