Board of Counselors

  • The Board of Counselors is comprised of alumni and non-alumni representatives invited by the Dean to serve as advisers on policy matters. It is a diverse group, representing the broad reach of the law school: solo practitioners, law firms, corporations, and government and public interest law settings.

    Established in 1998, the board was convened to assist in the development of a strategic plan for Capital University Law School, and once developed, to monitor its implementation. Additionally, the board provides continuous, independent input from important constituencies, reflecting on such matters as the caliber of graduates, the academic program, and faculty and administration relations with the larger community, among other issues.

    The mission of the Law School's Board of Counselors is to serve the school as a connection to the community, as a trusted adviser to the dean, and as an enthusiastic advocate for the school, its students and its worthiness for support.

    Board of Counselors 2014 - 2015
    Jo Ellen Yeary, L'80, Northeast Natural Energy, LLC (Chair)
    James D. Abrams, L'03, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP
    Mary Augsburger, L'02, Ohio Bar Association
    Mark A. Engel, L'79, T'90, Bricker & Eckler LLP
    Todd Ernsberger, L'03, T'04, Onda, LaBuhn, Rankin & Boggs, LPA
    Lisa L. Eschleman, L'87, Ohio Center for Law-Related Education (Immediate Past Chair)
    Hon. Kathleen Graham, P’77, L’82, Franklin County Municipal Court
    David Grauer, L'85, Squire Sanders LLP
    Mark Hatcher, L'06, T'06, Baker & Hostetler LLP
    Daniel G. Hilson, L'86, Roetzel & Andress LLP
    Senator James M. Hughes, L'94, Ohio Statehouse
    Michael Jordan, L'97 Ice Miller LLP
    Eric R. Keller, L'95, Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LPA
    Emmett M. Kelly, L'99, Frost Brown Todd LLC
    Jon F. Kelly, L'76, AT&T Services, Inc. (Chair Elect)
    Edward L. "Skipp" Kropp, L'78, Steptoe & Johnson PLLC
    Christine L. Liberto, L'10, Carlile Patchen & Murphy LLP
    Jonathan W. Marshall, L'70
    J. Thomas Mason, L'84, M/I Homes
    R. Lindsey McCutchan, L'97, Nationwide Insurance
    David P. Meyer, L'95, LLM'96, Meyer Wilson Co., LPA
    Gretchen Koehler Mote, L'78, Ohio Bar Liability Insurance Co.
    Kathy A. Olson, L'77, Battelle Memorial Institute
    Nicholas A. Pittner, L'70, H'01, Bricker & Eckler LLP
    Donna M. Ruscitti, L'86, Porter Wright Morris & Arthur LLP
    Allen L. Rutz, L'98, Vorys, Sater Seymour and Pease LLP
    Jeff Standley, L'88, Standley Law Group LLP

    James R. Beattie, Associate Dean
    Shawn M. Beem, L’02, Assistant Dean for Professional Development
    Terri T. Botsko, L’91, Director of Law Alumni Relations
    Johanna Evans, SBA President/JD Candidate 2015
    Rachel M. Janutis, Interim Dean
    Sandra R. McIntosh, L’04, Freund, Freeze & Arnold, President, Law Alumni Association

    Robert J. Weiler, L'83, H'05, The Robert Weiler Company

    Past Chairs
    Lisa L. Eschleman, L'87, Ohio Center for Law-Related Education (2013-2014)
    James D. Abrams, L'03, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP (2012-2013)
    Hon. Teresa L. Liston, L'81, (ret.) Franklin County Municipal Court (2011-2012)
    Georgeann G. Peters, L'83, Baker & Hostetler LLP (2010-2011)
    Philip J. Fulton, L'80, Fulton Law Offices (2009-2010)
    Gary W. Hammond, L'80, Hammond Sewards & Williams (2008-2009) 
    Kathleen M. Trafford, L'79, Porter Wright Morris & Arthur LLP (2007-2008) 
    Barbara J. Lucks, L'76, Barbara J. Lucks, LPA (2006-2007)
    J. Miles Gibson, L'78, Isaac Wiles (2005-2006)