Children and Family Law Advocates - Capital University Law School

Children and Family Law Advocates

  • Children and Family Law Advocates ("CFLA") seeks to:

    • Prepare law students for practice in the areas of family and child law by providing an array of programming options to help students acquire the necessary skills and experience to practice in this field.
    • Supplement the law school curriculum with events and activities which expose students to both the benefits and challenges of practicing in the field of family and child law.
    • Reduce the shortage of trained and dedicated child advocates by recruiting new attorneys through exposure to the range of available career paths. 

    2019-2020 Leadership
    President: Elizabeth Gleason
    Advisor: Megan Heydlauff

    Historical Information

    2018-2019 Leadership 
    President: Derein Rogers
    Vice President: Allison Slonaker
    Treasurer/Secretary: Jason Woyce
    Public Relations Chair: Allison Slonaker
    Advisor: Megan Heydlauff

    2017-2018 Leadership 
    President: Sonya Shaw
    Vice President: Kevin Shimp
    Treasurer/Secretary: Vinnie Rivera
    Public Relations Chair: Kellie Selmser
    Advisor: Megan Heydlauff 
    2016-2017 Leadership 
    President: Steven Katz
    Vice President: Haleigh McClure
    Treasurer: Sonya Shaw
    Public Relations Chair: Brianna Walsh
    Events Chair: Kyle Serrott
    2015-2016 Leadership 
    President: Steven Katz
    Treasurer: Sameerah Baksh
    Events/Public Relations Chair: Julie Beroes
    Fundraising Chair: Haileigh McClure
    Community Service Chair: Erin Patterson 

    2014-2015 Leadership
    President: Kelly DeBrouwer
    Treasurer: Jacci Baumann
    Events/Public Relations Chair: Ashley Cooper
    Fundraising Chair: Julie Beroes
    Community Service Chair: Sameerah Baksh

    2013-2014 Leadership
    President: Tara Steiner
    Treasurer: Megan Rausch
    Community Service Chair: Kelsey Ronald
    Publicity Chair: Kelly DeBrouwer

    2012-2013 Leadership
    President: Abbie Obenour
    Treasurer: Alexa Manes
    Public Relations Chair: Jessica Doogan
    Fundraising Chair: Ryan Sander
    Events Chair: Tara Steiner
    Community Service Chair: Jennifer Matzye
    Advisor: Fawn Gadel

    2011-2012 Leadership
    President: Robert Mochel
    Treasurer: Christine Diedrick
    Public Relations Chair: Autumn White
    Fundraising Chair: Jackie Sherrick
    Events Coordinator: Abbie Obenour
    Community Service Chair: Jennifer Matzye
    Advisor: Dawn Viggiano