The John E. Sullivan Lecture: Previous Lectutures

  • Previous Sullivan lecturers
    Year Lecturer Topic
    2013 Judge Jeffrey S. Sutton of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit Our 51 Constitutions: The Story of the Compelled-Sterilization Cases
    2012-2013 Chief Judge Alex Kozinski of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit Apolitical or A Political Force? The Federal Judiciary's Role in American Society 
    2011-2012 Richard A. Epstein, Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Law at the New York University with comments by Craig Becker, Visiting Associate Professor of Law, Georgetown University and former Obama appointee to the National Labor Relations Board Savior or Scourge: The Role of Labor Unions in the United States Today 
    2010-2011 Margaret Jane Radin, Henry King Ransom Professor of Law at the University of Michigan Reconsidering Boilerplate: Confronting Normative and Democratic Embarrassment  
    2009-2010 Vincent A. Blasi, Corliss Lamont Professor of Civil Liberties at Columbia Law School and the James Madison Distinguished Professor of Law at the University of Virginia Shouting “Fire!” in a Theater and Other Famous Examples Marking the Limits of Free Speech  
    2008-2009 Akhil Reed Amar, Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science, Yale University How America’s Constitution Affirmed Freedom of Speech Even Before the First Amendment  
    2007-2008 Gerald Torres, Bryant Smith Chair, University of Texas at Austin School of Law Social Movements and the Ethical Construction of Law 
    2006-2007 Randy Barnett, Carmack Waterhouse Professor of Legal Theory, Georgetown University Law Center    The People or the State?: Chisholm v. Georgia and Popular Sovereignty  
    2005-2006  Erwin Chemerinsky, Alston & Bird Professor of Law, Duke University    
    2004-2005 Barbara Bennett-Woodhouse, director for the Center on Children and Families and the David H. Levin Chair in Family Law, University of Florida Levin College of Law     
    2003-2004 Thomas D. Morgan, Oppenheim Professor of Antitrust and Trade Regulation Law, The George Washington University Law School    
    2002-2003 The Honorable Diane P. Wood, U.S. Court of Appeals for the 7th Circuit    
    2001-2002 Michael H. Shapiro, University of Southern California Law School   
    2000-2001 Paul Carrington  
    1999-2000 Richard B. Stewart  
    1998-1999 Elizabeth Bartholet  
    1997-1998 Julius L. Chambers  
    1996-1997 Jesse H. Choper  
    1995-1996 The Honorable Louis H. Pollak  
    1994-1995 Owen M. Fiss  
    1993-1994 The Honorable Nathanial R. Jones  
    1992-1993 The Honorable Edward R. Becker  
    1991-1992 Robert M. O'Neil  
    1990-1991 Michael J. Perry  
    1989-1990 Eleanor Holmes Norton  
    1988-1989 Lee C. Bollinger  
    1987-1988 G. Edward White  
    1986-1987 Willard H. Pedrick  
    1985-1986 The Rev. Peter Newman Brooks  
    1984-1985 Robert M. Cover  
    1983-1984 John W. Wade  
    1982-1983 Thomas L. Shaffer  
    1981-1982 The Honorable Rugerro J. Aldisert  
    1980-1981 Robert B. McKay  
    1979-1980 William Stringfellow