News - Capital University Law School

Brocker Fund to offer female students scholarships

10/17/2012  -  Capital University Law School has a new scholarship fund in honor of our first female graduate, Esther H. Brocker, L’26.

Brocker, a single mother, traveled back and forth from Lancaster from 1922 to 1926 to become the first woman to graduate from Columbus School of Law, a predecessor of Capital University Law School. After graduation at age 42, she opened her own practice in Lancaster, served two terms as the City Solicitor in the 1930s, and was vice president of the Fairfield County Bar Association in the 1960s. Read more about Brocker’s inspiring story here.

Brocker worked as an attorney until age 83. She passed away in 1972 at age 88, but her legacy lives on at Capital University Law School in the form of the Esther H. Brocker Scholarship Fund. The goal for the fund, started with a $4,660 donation from alumna Jane L. Miller, L’76, is to raise $25,000 by 2017 to fund scholarships for upper-class female students based on merit and demonstrated need.

In addition, Law School alumna and member of the Board of Counselors Georgeann G. Peters, L’83, has approved the creation of a significant scholarship fund in support of the Brocker Fund. The Georgann G. Peters Women’s Law Scholarship was established with the commitment of a $5,000 contribution during each of thenext five years.

Leaders at the Law School are working with the Women’s Law Association to flesh out details on a possible annual program and reception in Brocker’s name to honor female CapLaw graduates and those who have had a significant impact on the legal profession.

The program would be similar in nature to the tremendously successful David D. White Scholarship, which supports CapLaw’s African-American students. That program was named for White, L’31, the first African-American graduate of the Law School and the first African-American licensed to practice law in Columbus. The endowment for the White Scholarship represents the largest current named endowment for the Law School.