Meet Your Student Ambassadors - Capital University Law School

Meet Your Student Ambassadors

  •  

     2017SA Justine    Justine Allen

    Hometown: Columbus, OH
    Class Year: Third-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: jallen5@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Maintain balance in your life! Spend lots of time studying, but not all your time. Make sure you carve out time for yourself and time to spend with family and friends.

     
     2017SA Sara   

    Sara Barrett


    Hometown: Tucson, Arizona
    Class Year: Second-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: sbarrett@law.capital.edu

    Advice: All incoming students should find a mentor and always ask as many questions as they have. Every question is valid and likely being asked by many students. Not every student works the same and it is likely what works for you will not work for your peers so don't believe you have to study one specific way or that your way is wrong.
     
     2017SA Katie   

    Katie Goins


    Hometown: Lucasville, OH
    Class Year: Second-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: kgoins908@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Get organized right from the start. Have your reading done with time to spare, take time to outline as you go, and recap the week. Yes, I know this isn't always possible, but allowing yourself to fall behind can lead to a vicious cycle. And at the same time, give yourself some slack here and there, this stuff is hard!
     
     2017SA Nickole   

    Nickole Iula


    Hometown: Independence, OH
    Class Year: Third-Year, Part-Time Evening
    Contact: niula@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Stay ahead of your assignments and never be afraid to ask professors questions. They won't always give you a straight answer but they may guide you towards the right one.
     
     2017SA Natalie   

    Natalie Kahler


    Hometown: Columbus, OH
    Class Year: Third-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: nkahler@law.capital.edu

    Advice: To try and attend as many events as you can to meet alumni! Meeting alumni in social environments can really help with establishing connections for job prospects later. Alumni and those met through association really want you to succeed in law school, and be prepared for a career after!

     
     2017SA Trenton   

    Trenton Laws


    Hometown: Grove City, OH
    Class Year: Second-Year, Part-Time Evening
    Contact: tlaws@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard. As cliche as the saying sounds, it certainly holds true in law school.

     
     2017SA Anna   

    Anna Mason


    Hometown: Logan, OH
    Class Year: Second-Year, Part-Time Evening
    Contact: amason2@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Law school is like eating an elephant - you gotta take it "one bite at a time!" Don't let it overwhelm you. Keep up with your outlines, meet with your professors, and do the practice essays and you'll be fine.

     
     2017SA Kimberlyn   

    Kimberlyn Seccuro


    Hometown: Cocoa Beach, FL
    Class Year: Second-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: kseccuro@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Never let the stressors of law school interfere with your personal life.Yes, there will be times when you have to sacrifice going to hangout with family and friends but you cannot forgo your life and sanity every day. Go to the football game. Go shopping. Go to the movies. Get drinks on Friday nights with your closest friends. Don't think your life will have to pause just because you're in law school. Find the balance.


     
     2017SA Kellie   

    Kellie Selmser


    Hometown: Lancaster, CA
    Class Year: Third-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: kselmser@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Set aside one night a week to do something not at all related to law school! Whether you go have a fun night out or bingewatch a show on Netflix, your brain needs the break.

     
     2017SA Scott   

    Scott Sugarman


    Hometown: Bexley, OH
    Class Year: Second-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: ssugarman@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Find a way to balance school with your personal life, learn to enjoy life while dealing with school, it makes it that much more rewarding.

     
          
     2017SA Jilian   

    Jilian Weithman


    Hometown: Urbana, OH
    Class Year: Second-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: jweithman@law.capital.edu

    Advice: My best piece of advice for a prospective student is to take law school seriously and put in the work, but ensure that you are still doing activities and hobbies that allow you to relax and de-stress.

     
     2017SA Avery   

    Avery Young


    Hometown: Cary, NC
    Class Year: Second-Year, Full-Time Day
    Contact: ayoung3@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Ask questions!

     


     


    June Ann Andrews


    Hometown: Freeport, NY
    Class Year: Third-Year, Part-Time Evening
    Contact: jandrews@law.capital.edu

    Advice: Don't procrastinate and if you need help ask. The professors here are willing to help and want you to succeed.
     

    Cynthia Rodgers


    Hometown: Akron, OH
    Class Year: Third-Year, Part-Time Evening
    Contact: crodgers@law.capital.edu

    Advice: If you are working full-time and have always wanted to go to law school, join us in the evening program. If you've been out of school awhile you could begin with the paralegal program to gain confidence. It worked for me!