Environmental Law Society

  • The Environmental Law Society (“ELS”) seeks to:

    • Conduct programs related to environmental issues.
    • Protect, understand, and enjoy the environment.
    • Foster discussion of environmental issues through a variety of on-campus events and through the sponsorship of speakers and discussion groups.

    2013-2014 Leadership
    President: Naty Messenger
    Vice President: Ben Humphrey
    Treasurer / Recycling Chair: Casey Galligan
    Secretary: Tara Maine

    On March 12, 2013, ELS held an Environmental Law Career Panel featuring Bill Fischbein (Supervising Attorney for Water Programs, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency), Andrea Salimbene (Partner, McMahon DeGulis LLP), Benjamin Franz (Associate, Ulmer & Berne LLP), and Trent Dougherty (Managing Director of Legal Affairs, Staff Attorney, Ohio Environmental Counsel)

    Historical Information

    2012-2013 Leadership
    President:  Chris Potterton
    Vice President: Casey Galligan 
    Treasurer:  Michael Sharvin
    Secretary: Jen Grant
    Recycling Chair:  Michael Sharvin
    2L Representative: Naty Messenger
    Advisor: Professor Dennis Hirsch  

    2011-2012 Leadership
    President: Jennifer Lause
    Vice President: Chris Potterton
    Treasurer: Phil Leppla
    Secretary: Phil Leppla
    Recycling Chair: Jennifer Grant
    Events Coordinator: Michael Sharvin
    2L Representative: Kyle Gallenstein
    Advisor: Professor Dennis Hirsch 
    2010-2011 Leadership
    President: Darcy Cook
    Vice President: Sonya Spicer
    Treasurer: Matt Melfi
    Secretary: John Lynch
    Recycling Representative: Rachel Thibo
    Parliamentarian: Bryce Burton
    Ohio Environmental Council Representative: Jennifer Lause
    2L Representative: Philip Leppla
    Advisor: Professor Dennis Hirsch