Christian Legal Society

  • Christian Legal Society ("CLS") seeks to:

    • Serve as a national grassroots network of lawyers and law students, committed to proclaiming, loving and serving Jesus Christ through all that its members do and say in the practice of law.
    • Avocate biblical conflict reconciliation, public justice, religious freedom and the sanctity of human life.
    • Develop strategic networks for the common good with organizations on the political left and right; with evangelical, fundamentalist and mainline denominations; and with key law professors, church-state experts, and national “opinion makers.”
    2013-2014 Leadership
    President: Amanda Florio
    Vice President: Jared Lee
    Treasurer: Erica Hutchison
    Community Service Chair: Vijay Veerula
    Fundraising Chair: Erin Burton
    Chaplain: Mona Sprague
    Communications Co-Chair: Johnna Evans
    Communications Co-Chair: Jywana Brown


    On April 15, 2013, CLS worked with the Federalist Society to co-present "Religion & Libertarianism: Protecting Religious Liberty by Protecting Everyone's Liberty" featuring Nebraska Law professor Rick Duncan and Capital University Law School professor Jim Beattie.    

    During the spring of 2013, CLS collected materials to send to an Army Battalion serving in Afghanistan.  

    On March 18, 2013, CLS held an event entitled "Faith and Practice Panel Discussion."  

    Historical Information 

    2012-2013 Leadership
    President: Ryan Hetsler
    Vice President: Vijay Veerula
    Treasurer: Anna Lou
    Community Service Chair: Erin Burton
    Fundraising Chair: Amanda Florio
    2L Representative: Ramona Sprague
    Advisor: Professor Mike Distelhorst  

    2011-2012 Leadership
    President: Ryan Hetsler
    Treasurer: Anna Lou
    Secretary: John Wright
    Community Service Chair: Amy Guilford
    Fundraising Chair: Genevieve Anderson
    Advisor: Professor Mike Distelhorst 
    2010-2011 Leadership
    President: Thad Townsend
    Treasurer: Amy Guilford
    Secretary: Weeya Baysah
    Community Service Chair: Anna Lou
    Public Relations Chair: David Miran
    Advisor: Professor Mike Distelhorst